AuthorRempel, Jody
PositionLegislative Reports

2021 Fall Sitting

The 2021 fall sitting is scheduled to begin on October 25, 2021. The seating plan will have changed significantly since the spring sitting due to a variety of membership changes including: the appointment of six Members to cabinet, changes to the United Conservative Party (UC) caucus, and the resignation of a Member so that she could run in the recent federal election.

Vaccine Mandate

On September 30 Premier Jason Kenney announced that a vaccine mandate would be implemented for public service employees. The policy requires employees to submit proof of full vaccination by November 30 or provide a privately obtained negative polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test result that has been completed within 72 hours of each workday. Eligible employees may request an exemption under the Alberta Human Rights Act. As part of the public service, Legislative Assembly staff are subject to this policy unless the Special Standing Committee on Members' Services orders an exemption or variation.

Cabinet Changes

On July 8 Premier Kenney expanded and made changes to the membership of his Cabinet. Raj an Sawhney, MLA, formerly the Minister of Community and Social Services, is now the Minister of Transportation. Jason Luan, MLA, has been promoted from Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions to Minister of Community and Social Services. Other Cabinet appointments include Mike Ellis, MLA, moving from Chief Government Whip to Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, and Ron Orr, MLA, taking on the role of Minister of Culture. New Associate Minister appointments include:

* Tanya Fir, MLA, as Associate Minister of Red Tape Reduction;

* Nate Flomer, MLA, as Associate Minister of Rural Economic Development, under the Ministry of Jobs, Economy and Innovation;

* Whitney Issik, MLA, as Associate Minister of Status of Women, under the Ministry of Culture and Status of Women; and

* Muhammad Yaseen, MLA, as Associate Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism, under the Ministry of Labour and Immigration.

Additional changes to non-ministry roles were also announced including the appointment of Joseph Schow, MLA, as Deputy Government House Leader, and Brad Rutherford, MLA, as Deputy Government Whip.

On September 21 two members of Cabinet exchanged portfolios, as the Jason Copping, MLA, was sworn in as Minister of Health and the Tyler Shandro, MLA, now serves as Minister of Labour and Immigration.

Caucus Changes

On July 14 the UC caucus...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT