AuthorPatrick J. Monahan/Byron Shaw/Padraic Ryan
Aboriginal peoples The original inhabitants of North America prior to
the arrival of European settlers. Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982
def‌ines the “Aboriginal peoples of Canada” as including the Indian,
Inuit, and Metis peoples of Canada.
Act A bill that has been approved or “read” three times by the Parliament
or legislature and signed into law by the queen’s representative (the gov-
ernor general or lieutenant governor). Also known as a statute.
Administrative (non-constitutional) judicial review A legal proceeding
in which a decision or action of a public body is challenged on the basis
that the decision or action exceeded the body’s legal powers.
British North America Act, 1867 The British statute creating Canada in
1867 out of the colonies of Canada, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
In 1982 it was renamed the Constitution Act, 1867.
Cabinet The group of ministers of state named by the prime minister
whose function is to advise the prime minister and governor general on
measures for the administration of public affairs.
Canadian Bill of Rights A federal statute, enacted in 1960, which pro-
vided that all federal legislation should be interpreted so as not to in-
fringe on certain fundamental individual rights.
Charlottetown Accord The agreement reached in August 1992 between
the prime minister, premiers, territorial leaders, and Aboriginal leaders
providing for comprehensive changes to the Canadian constitution.

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT