Northern Ontario Business Awards.


Northern Ontario's business community toasted the achievements of three outstanding individuals and eight remarkable companies at the 30th anniversary of the Northern Ontario Business Awards (NOBA) at the Caruso Club in Sudbury on Oct. 6.

A capacity crowd of more than 500 was moved and inspired by the stories of the 2016 award winners as 10 business awards were presented: Company of the Year in three categories, Entrepreneur of the Year, Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Entrepreneurial Community, First Nations Business Award of Excellence, Innovation, Export, and Judges' Choice.

The $3,000 Union Gas Essay Scholarship was also presented.

Each year, a respected panel of judges from across Northern Ontario is brought together to adjudicate the many nominations.

They are asked to look at all aspects of business performance, from customer service and community involvement to human resource management and future planning.

This year's judges were: Tom Laughren, director of corporate responsibility at Lakeshore Gold (Timmins); Mark Sherry, president at Stroma Service Consulting Inc. (North Bay); Jeff Fuller, president of Fuller Industrial (Sudbury); and Cliff Friesen, former executive vice-president of Bearskin Airlines (Thunder Bay).

Dr. Stephen Monet, manager of environmental planning for the City of Greater Sudbury, judged the Union Gas Essay Scholarship.

NOBA has become the largest annual gathering of its kind in Northern Ontario since it was launched in 1986.

For 30 years, these awards have served to heighten the visibility and influence of business in the North and bring peer recognition to the business leaders who create prosperity and economic growth.

The 2016 event was co-hosted by Sudbury Mayor Brian Bigger and Patricia Mills, former publisher of Northern Ontario Business.


  1. Union Gas Essay Scholarship Sponsor: Union Gas Presenter: Mike MacDonald, Senior System Business Analyst Winner: Devon Gavan, student at Bishop Alexander Carter Catholic Secondary School


  2. Entrepreneur of the Year Sponsor: KIA Canada Inc. Presenter: Jaypee Baumbach, District Manager Winner/Recipient: Pat Dubreuil, Owner, Garson


  3. Company of the Year (16-50) Sponsor: OLG Presenter: Gina Labelle, Host at OLG Slots Sudbury Winner: Morin Industrial (Lively) Recipient: Rick Morin, Owner & Operator


  4. Innovation Award Sponsor: Huntington University Presenter: Dr. Kevin McCormick, President and Vice- Chancellor...

To continue reading