Author:Drake, Anne
Position::Legislative Reports - Updates on members of the Legislative Assembly; carbon tax debate; Workers' Compensation Amendment Act

Independent Member

Don McMorris, member for Indian Head-Milestone, resigned from cabinet and from the Saskatchewan Party caucus on August 8, 2016. As a result of the resignation, the composition of the Assembly has changed to 50 Saskatchewan Party members, 10 New Democratic Party members, and one independent member.

Cabinet Shuffle

On August 23, 2016, Premier Brad Wall reorganized his cabinet to include 17 cabinet posts, one less than the previous cabinet. Don Morgan, Minister of Education and Minister of Labour, was appointed as Deputy Premier.

Four newly elected MLAs were appointed to cabinet:

* Tina Beaudry-Mellor became Minister of Social Services and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women;

* Bronwyn Eyre became Minister of Advanced Education;

* Joe Hargrave became Minister Responsible for Crown Investments Corporation, Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Government Insurance, and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Transportation Company; and

* Dave Marit became Minister of Highways and Infrastructure.

Six MLAs switched portfolios:

* Dustin Duncan became Minister of Energy and Resources, Minister Responsible for SaskTel, and Minister Responsible for SaskEnergy;

* Donna Harpauer became the Minister of Government Relations and Minister of First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs;

* Jeremy Harrison became Minister of Economy, Minister Responsible for Global Transportation Hub and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority;

* Scott Moe became Minister of Environment, Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Water Corporation, and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Water Security Agency;

* Christine Tell became Minister of Central Services and Minister Responsible for SaskGaming Corporation and Minister Responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission; and

* Jim Reiter became the Minister of Health.

Four other cabinet ministers retained their current portfolios:

* Kevin Doherty, Minister of Finance;

* Lyle Stewart, Minister of Agriculture;

* Greg Ottenbreit, Minister Rural and Remote Health; and

* Gordon Wyant, Minister of Justice, Minister of Corrections and Policing, Minister Responsible for SaskBuilds, and Minister Responsible for SaskPower.

Ken Cheveldayoff was appointed as Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister Responsible for the Public Service Commission. Nadine Wilson remained in the role of Provincial Secretary and Legislative Secretary to the Premier. Eight additional legislative secretaries were appointed:


To continue reading