AuthorKolody, Linda
PositionLegislative Reports

2022 Fall Sitting

The 2022 Fall Sitting of the First Session of the 35th Yukon Legislative Assembly began on October 6, and is expected to conclude on November 24,2022, after 28 sitting days.

Premier stepping down

On September 9, Premier Sandy Silver announced that he will step aside as Premier once a Yukon Liberal Party Leader successor has been named. Mr. Silver indicated that he will continue to serve as the Member for Klondike during this Assembly, but will not stand for re-election in the next territorial general election. Premier Silver, who was first elected as an MLA in the 2011 territorial general election, was first sworn in as Premier in December 2016. The Yukon Liberal Party as of this writing has not announced when the Leadership convention will take place.

Ombudsman appointed

On October 11, 2022, the Legislative Assembly unanimously adopted a motion recommending, pursuant to sections 2 and 3 of the Ombudsman Act, that the Commissioner in Executive Council appoint Jason Pedlar as the next Ombudsman of Yukon for a five-year period, effective October 14.

On October 14, Mr. Pedlar was sworn in as Yukon's Ombudsman by Clerk Dan Cable in a ceremony held in the Chamber. The territory's Ombudsman also serves as the Information and Privacy Commissioner, and the Public Service Disclosure Commissioner.

A July 13 news release from the Assembly's all-party Members' Services Board announced that the Board would be recommending Mr. Pedlar's appointment as the next Ombudsman, and that the then-Ombudsman, Diane McLeod-McKay, would be leaving her position on July 29 in order to become the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta. In July of 2021, Mr. Pedlar had been appointed as Yukon's first Deputy Ombudsman.

Conflict of Interest Commissioner reappointed

On October 11, the Legislative Assembly unanimously passed a motion to reappoint the Conflict of Interest Commissioner, David Phillip Jones, for a three-year period, effective November 1. The Order of the House reappointing Mr. Jones was made pursuant to section 18 of the Conflict of Interest (Members and Ministers) Act.

Mr. Jones was first appointed as Yukon's Conflict of Interest Commissioner in 2002, for a three-year term. The House has since reappointed him for seven successive three-year terms--in 2005, 2008, 2011, 2014, 2017, 2019, and 2022.

Government bills introduced

Pursuant to Standing Order 74, the following government bills were introduced by the fifth sitting day--October...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT