Actions Commenced under the Conventions

AuthorJohn D. Holding
Chapter 9: Actions Commenced under
the Conventions
1) Four Bases of Jurisdiction
The Warsaw Convention provides four bases for judicial jurisdic-
tion.1These were adopted in the Montreal Convention, which
added a fifth one.2
The first four jurisdictions are the following state territories:
where the carrier is ordinarily resident
where the carrier has its principal place of business
where the carrier has an establishment or place of business
through which the contract was made
the place of destination
i) “Ordinarily Resident” (the Montreal Convention refers to the
“domicile”): The place where the main corporate administra-
1 Warsaw Convention, art. 28.
2 Montreal Convention, art. 33, para. 2.

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT