AuthorKattar, Vanesa
PositionLegislative Reports

The final session of the 42nd Parliament witnessed the return of the Committee of the Whole House and several reports by Committees. The Provincial Election was held on June 2, 2022.

Committee of the Whole House

For the first time in 20 years, the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole House following the referral of a few Private Members' Bills. On March 29, 2022, Bill 105, An Act to proclaim the month of May as Armenian Heritage Month was considered by the Committee and reported without amendments. Subsequently, on April 7, 2022, the House again resolved into a committee and, after some time, rose and reported two Bills without amendments: Bill 112, An Act to proclaim Green Shirt Day; and Bill 45, An Act to proclaim Ontario Cadets Week.

Dissolution and 2022 Ontario Election

On May 3, 2022, a proclamation was issued dissolving the 42nd Parliament of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario. Writs for a general election for Members to serve in the 43rd Parliament were prepared by the Chief Electoral Officer and signed by the Lieutenant Governor. The writs were issued bearing the date of May 4, 2022. The election returned a Progressive Conservative majority with Premier Doug Ford securing his second consecutive term.

Overall, the membership of the Legislature will be 83 Progressive Conservatives, 31 New Democrats, eight Liberals, one Green, and one independent Member. Of the 124 Members elected, 36 will take their seats as new Members.

The 43rd Parliament will also see a familiar two-recognized-party structure with the Progressive Conservatives and New Democrats obtaining recognized party status. The Ontario Liberals secured eight seats, falling shy of the 12 seats needed for recognized party status.


The House expressed its condolence on the passing of several former Members during the second session of the 42nd Parliament, including:

Hugh Alden Edighoffer, Member for the Electoral District of Perth from September 17,1967, to September 5.1990, and served as Speaker from 1985 to 1990.

Michael James Breaugh, Member for the Electoral District of Oshawa from September 18, 1975, to September 5,1990.

Harry Craig Parrott, Member for the Electoral District of Oxford from October 21,1971, to March 18, 1981.

Bette M. Stephenson, Member for the Electoral District of York Mills from September 18, 1975, to September 9,1987.

Aileen Carroll, Member for the Electoral District of Barrie from October 10, 2007, to October 5, 2011.


To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT