AuthorCaouette, Emilie
PositionLegislative Reports

Proceedings of the National Assembly of Quebec

General election

The October 3, 2022, general election resulted in 90 seats going to the Coalition avenir Quebec, 21 to the Quebec Liberal Party, 11 to Quebec solidaire and three to the Parti quebecois. The Coalition avenir Quebec, therefore, formed a majority government for a second consecutive term. A record number of women were elected in this general election. There are now 58 women in the National Assembly of Quebec, for a total of 46.4 per cent of the MNAs.

On October 20, 2022, Premier Francois Legault announced the composition of his 30-Member Executive Council, which is a near-parity Cabinet as it includes 14 women. An Indigenous woman was appointed Minister for the first time in Quebec. Kateri Champagne Jourdain, Member for Duplessis, is now Minister of Employment.

On the same day, on the advice of the Executive Council, the Lieutenant-Governor summoned the National Assembly to meet for the First Session of the Forty-Third Legislature at 2:00 p.m. on November 29, 2022.


On October 12, 2022, the Quebec Liberal Party announced the appointments of Filomena Rotiroti, Member for Jeanne-Mance-Viger, as Chief Whip; Marc Tanguay, Member for LaFontaine, as House Leader; Monsef Derraji, Member for Nelligan, as Deputy House Leader; and Enrico Ciccone, Member for Marquette, as Caucus Chair.

On October 20, 2022, the Government announced the appointments of Simon Jolin-Barrette, Minister of Justice, as House Leader; Eric Lefebvre, Member for Arthabaska, as Chief Whip; and Mario Laframboise, Member for Blainville, as Caucus Chair. In addition, Eric Caire and Mathieu Levesque, Members for La Peltrie and Chapleau, respectively, were both appointed Deputy House Leaders, and Nancy Guillemette, Genevieve Hebert and Claude Reid, Members for Roberval, Saint-Frangois and Beauharnois, respectively, were appointed Deputy Whips.

On October 27, 2022, Marie-Claude Nichols, Member for Vaudreuil, was expelled from the Quebec Liberal Party caucus and became an independent Member. Dominique Anglade resigned as Leader of the Official Opposition on November 7, 2022, and was officially replaced by Mr. Tanguay on November 10, 2022. Ms. Anglade also resigned as Member for Saint-Henri-Sainte-Anne on December 1, 2022.

In consequence, the National Assembly is now composed of 124 MNAs: 90 from the Coalition avenir Quebec, 19 from the Quebec Liberal Party, 11 from Quebec solidaire, three from the Parti quebecois and one independent. Since the Quebec Liberal Party has fewer than 20 MNAs, Mr. Ciccone, Member for Marquette, may no longer hold the position of Caucus Chair of the Official Opposition.

On November 14, 2022, the Quebec Liberal Party announced changes to the parliamentary functions of some of its members. Mr. Derraji, Member for Nelligan, was appointed Official Opposition House Leader and Virginie Dufour, Member for Mille-Iles, was appointed Deputy House Leader of the Official Opposition.

Oath of allegiance

On October 11, 2022, the Member for Camille-Laurin, Paul St-Pierre Plamondon, wrote to the Secretary General requesting that he be allowed to hold office without taking the oath of allegiance provided for in section 128 of the Constitution Act, 1867. On...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT