Rob McEwen among new inductees to Canadian Mining Hall of Fame.


Five new mining pioneers have joined the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame.

The new inductees were installed during a dinner and ceremony in Toronto on Jan. 12.

The inductees include:

James E. C. Carter: A leader in the Alberta oil sands industry, who focused on efficiency and sustainability to grow the industry.

Robert R. McEwen: chair and CEO of McEwen Mining Inc. and former chair and CEO of Goldcorp. McEwen donated $10 million to Sudbury's School of Architecture, which now bears his name.

Donald A. McLeod: A mining pioneer from British Columbia, who is known for developing the Brandywine, Newhawk and Northair projects.

William S. (Steve) Vaughan: A mining lawyer who has advised and represented Canadian...

To continue reading