Author:Baldwin, Alex
Position::Legislative Reports

The 3rd Legislative Assembly was dissolved on September 22, 2013. The Chief Electoral Officer issued writs of election on September 23, 2013. The 4th general election was held on October 28, 2013. This was the first general election to be held under the territory's new electoral boundaries. The number of seats in the Legislative Assembly has increased from 19 to 22.

A number of incumbents did not stand for re-election. Retiring Members were James Arreak, Moses Aupaluktuq, Tagak Curley, John Ningark, Daniel Shewchuk, Louis Tapardjuk and Hunter Tootoo.

At the close of nominations, two incumbents were declared acclaimed: Peter Taptuna, MLA for Kugluktuk and Jeannie Ugyuk, MLA for Netsilik. The successful candidates in the 4th general election were:

* Paul Quassa (Aggu)

* Steve Mapsalak (Aivilik)

* George Qulaut (Amittuq)

* George Kuksuk (Arviat NorthWhale Cove)

* Joe Savikataaq (Arviat South)

* Simeon Mikkungwak (Baker Lake)

* Keith Peterson (Cambridge Bay)

* Tony Akoak (Gjoa Haven)

* Allan Rumbolt (Hudson Bay)

* Monica Ell (IqaluitManirajak)

* Pat Angnakak (IqaluitNiaqunnguu)

* Paul Okalik (Iqaluit-Sinaa)

* George Hickes (IqaluitTasiluk)

* Johnny Mike (Pangnirtung)

* Isaac Shooyook (Quttiktuq)

* Tom Sammurtok (Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet)

* David Joanasie (South Baffin)

* Joe Enook (Tununiq)

As a consequence of tie votes in the constituencies of Rankin Inlet South and Uqqummiut, judicial recounts were held on November 5, 2013. Following the recounts, Samuel Nuqingaq was declared the successful candidate in Uqqummiut. A by-election will be held for the constituency of Rankin Inlet South on February 10, 2014.

On November 15, 2013, Members-elect gathered in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly for the convening of the Nunavut Leadership Forum. By convention, the Forum consists of all Members of the Legislative Assembly, and is used to conduct the selection process for the Speaker, Premier and members of the Executive Council (Cabinet) of Nunavut. The Forum's proceedings were open to the public to observe from the Visitors' Gallery and were televised live across Nunavut.

The first item of business was the selection of the Speaker. George Qulaut was acclaimed to the position.

Three Members accepted nominations to serve as Premier: Mr. Taptuna, Mr. Okalik and Mr. Quassa. Each candidate was permitted to deliver a 20-minute speech. Members not standing for Premier were permitted to ask up to two questions to the candidates. In a secret...

To continue reading